Emma Paperdoll

Been working on a fun side project! I was watching Miramax’s film adaptation of Emma (1996) the other day, and I fell in love with the costuming again. One of my  favorite costume from this adaptation is probably the pink archery gown. 🙂 But it’s so hard to choose just one favorite because she has so many beautiful costumes! Rather than limit myself to drawing just one of her costumes for my watch list, I decided to draw an Emma paperdoll and all of her gowns (I hope!). 😀

SAMSUNG CSC
Printed and Ready to Cut!

I drew the initial sketch in Photoshop. Then, I imported it into Illustrator to refine the outlines. Once the outlines were good, I colored it in Photoshop.

OT_Paperdoll_Emma04 copy.jpg
Finished cutting 🙂

I played around with the doll stand on this paperdoll because I’ve always had this problem of my paperdolls falling over or bending over. 😦

SAMSUNG CSC
Fold side flaps back to create stand.

So instead of having the usual slits and strip of paper, I put flaps on either side that when folded create a stand. So far the stand seems to be sturdy! Yay!

SAMSUNG CSC
Emma Woodhouse

Her design is inspired by both Gwyneth Paltrow and Romola Garai’s portrayals of Emma. I gave her blonde hair because in those two adaptations, Emma had light hair. What color do you imagine Emma having?

I started making a list of all Emma’s costumes in the 1996 adaptation. After doing a little costume research, I’m going to start on her first gown. Hoping to post a new costume each week! 😀

overdonetoaste_freedownload-02

Published by

deanna.bohae

learning to be an artist...

3 thoughts on “Emma Paperdoll”

Leave a Reply

