Process of Illustration

Been working on some clipart for Charlotte’s Web. This is just a peak at my design process. šŸ™‚

Research!

The most important step of any project, at least for me, is research.

  • Who are the main characters of Charlotte’s Web?
  • Does the author give any physical descriptions?
  • What kind of spider is Charlotte? (unfortunately I also had too look up pictures of spiders as part of my research O.o)
OT_CharlottesWeb_02
Random Doodles

Brainstorm!

Brainstorming is the fun part! I doodle lots of different ideas all over the place – on scrap paper, in a sketchbook, in the margin of my school notes. I take the better ideas and do some sketches to help figure out the final designs.

OT_CharlottesWeb_01.png
Sketch ready to import into Adobe Illustrator

Design and Illustrate!

This part is much easier if I start with the first two steps. Skipping to this step makes the process take longer (I feel). I end up with a lot more discards if I don’t refine my ideas through research and brainstorming.

For this project, I imported my sketch into Adobe Illustrator. Sometimes I create the outlines in Photoshop before working in Illustrator, but I decided on a style without outlines for this project. šŸ™‚

OT_CharlottesWeb_03

And the final product!

imaginelit_CharlottesWebClipart

This clipart set is available for purchase at TeachersPayTeachers.

Pre-K, Kindergarten, First, Second, Third, Homeschooler, Not Grade Specific - TeachersPayTeachers.com

Published by

deanna.bohae

learning to be an artist...

Leave a Reply

